Celtic 0
Ross County 2
Scottish Cup (Semi Final)


0 - 2

Ross County

Scottish Cup (Semi Final)
Saturday, April 10th, 2010
Hampden Park. Att. 24,535
3:00 PM Kick-off

None. Steven Craig (55)
Martin Scott (88)

Team Managers
Neil Lennon Derek Adams

Starting Eleven
Lukasz Zaluska
Andreas Hinkel
Lee Naylor
Josh Thompson
Darren O'Dea
Landry N'Guemo
Scott Brown
Aiden McGeady
Robbie Keane
Georgios Samaras
Marc-Antoine Fortune
Michael McGovern
Scott Boyd
Gary Miller
Alex Keddie
Scott Morrison
Martin Scott
Iain Vigurs
Michael Gardyne
Richard Brittain
Steven Craig
Andrew Barrowman

Don Cervi
Mark Wilson
Marc Crosas
Patrick McCourt
Morten Rasmussen
Joe Malin
Stuart Kettlewell
Paul Lawson
Garry Wood
Paul Di Giacomo

Marc Crosas for Landry N'Guemo (42)
Patrick McCourt for Marc-Antoine Fortune (67)
Morten Rasmussen for Andreas Hinkel (84)
Paul Lawson for Michael Gardyne (89)

Darren O'Dea (78) Gary Miller (69)

Red Cards
None. None.

Match Officials

Willie Collum (Referee)

Match Report

Source unknown.

Celtic slumped to one of the worst results in their history as Ross County stunned the Glasgow giants at Hampden to reach the Scottish Cup final.

Derek Adams' side kept Neil Lennon's men at bay and forged ahead early in the second half after Steven Craig cut through the Celtic defence. Celtic had their second-half chances and Georgios Samaras hit the post.

However, Martin Scott volleyed home a second to send the First Division side into their first-ever major final. The victory signalled celebrations among the Dingwall side's 7,000 fans - more than the population of the town that houses the club who moved up from the Highland League to the Scottish Football League in 1994.

County had pressed from the start and didn't allow Celtic time to settle, but Robbie Keane always looked dangerous whenever he took possession. Aiden McGeady almost slipped in Keane, but the ball hit the striker's heel, summing up their early struggles.

The First Division side's best effort of the opening half arrived on 17 minutes when Lukasz Zaluska was forced to tip over Scott Morrison's dangerous cross from the left.

Celtic had few flourishes forward, but Scott Boyd had to clear Marc-Antoine Fortune's pass across goal from the right just before the half-hour mark as Keane lurked with intent.

County remained full of running and put together some tidy moves around the edge of Celtic's area without ever seriously threatening. The match continued a familiar pattern with the Dingwall side enjoying the majority of possession and Lennon's men hoping to find Keane with a killer pass.

County again forged forward at the start of the second half and Craig blazed over at the back post from Vigurs' cross. Samaras performed some good work on the left wing for Celtic and centred the ball, but there were no takers. Iain Vigurs then looked to have spurned a magnificent opportunity for the Highland side when Richard Brittain's corner arrived at his feet and he shot wide with the goal at his mercy, but a foul had been given.
However, the Victoria Park side did not have long to wait to take a stunning lead as Craig cut in from the right and produced a scything run through the Celtic defence and finished emphatically.

Fortune looked certain to level with just over quarter of the game remaining after a Lee Naylor free-kick broke to him in the box, but his left-foot finish was deflected behind from four yards. The striker was then replaced with Paddy McCourt as Lennon searched for a spark.

County were having to survive an onslaught as Celtic fought desperately to save their season, but they held firm. Zaluska had to pull of a smart save from Brittain's long-range effort as Adams' side looked to kill off Celtic's challenge. Samaras should have levelled for Celtic when he smacked the ball off the post after McGeady's cross.

But County finished off the game as Andy Barrowman crossed for Scott to volley home from close range and all but end Celtic's season.

Squad Statistics (as at April 10th, 2010)

2009/10 All Time
Michael McGovern (GK)25 42 - 42 -
Scott Boyd23 324936
Scott Morrison25 413635
Alex Keddie29 36113910
Gary Miller22 371591
Martin Scott24 3631409
Richard Brittain26 42108015
Michael Gardyne24 411212623
Iain Vigurs21 403403
Andrew Barrowman25 1245133
Steven Craig29 28106422
Paul Lawson (sub)25 376898

League Table (as at April 10th, 2010)

No league table has been added for this season.