Ross County 1
Celtic 1
League (SPL)

Ross County
1 - 1

League (SPL)
Saturday, August 18th, 2012
Global Energy Stadium. Att. 6,110
3:00 PM Kick-off

Richard Brittain (49)
Kris Commons (90)

Team Managers
Derek Adams
Neil Lennon

Starting Eleven
Michael Fraser
5. Scott Boyd
Grant Munro
3. Marc Fitzpatrick
6. Ross Tokely
7. Stuart Kettlewell
11. Iain Vigurs
Richard Brittain
12. Rocco Quinn
15. Mark Corcoran
Colin McMenamin
Fraser Forster
Adam Matthews
Emilio Izaguirre
Kelvin Wilson
Georgios Samaras
Kris Commons
Joe Ledley
Charlie Mulgrew
Mikael Lustig
Beram Kayal
Victor Wanyama

Sean McCarthy
Adam Porritt
Mihael Kovacevic
Archie MacPhee
Russell Duncan
Steven Ross
Sam Morrow
Tony Watt
Paul Slane
Thomas Rogne
Joe Chalmers
Callum McGregor
James Keatings
Lukasz Zaluska

None. Tony Watt-Mikael Lustig (64)
Paul Slane-Kelvin Wilson (77)

Stuart Kettlewell (52)

Red Cards
None. None.
Match Officials

Craig Thomson (Referee)

Match Report

Source unknown.

Richard Brittain scored the Ross County's first ever goal in the top-flight with an expertly struck free-kick just four minutes into the second half.

Celtic hit the County woodwork on either side of the interval, but struggled to find a way through. However, a low drive from Kris Commons in the fourth minute of added time salvaged a point for the visitors. The draw extended County's unbeaten run of league matches to 37.

Inside the first 10 minutes, Marc Fitzpatrick swung a tempting ball across the face of Celtic's goal that Kettlewell nodded inches wide of Fraser Forster's left-hand post. Commons should have done better on the 25-minute mark with a low drive from inside the County penalty are that he struck straight at the feet of keeper Michael Fraser. With almost 30 minutes played, Kettlewell tested Forster from 25 yards with a powerful strike, but the Englishman gathered comfortably. Moment later, Samaras headed down inside the Ross County six-yard box, but his effort was off-target.

Victor Wanyama struck the woodwork when the ball bounced off his shoulder from a Commons corner, then as half time approached Izaguirre failed to find a Celtic jersey inside the home penalty area with another trademark cross.

Only four minutes after the restart, Brittain blasted in an outstanding free-kick from 19 yards that Forster failed to reach at full-stretch.
Moments later, Samaras appeared to be denied a penalty when Brittain tripped him on the 18-yard line, but referee Craig Thomson was having none of it.

A long-distance Commons shot was kept out by Fraser as the hour mark approached, then Charlie Mulgrew struck a free-kick off the Ross County crossbar from 25 yards out. Another Commons shot was deflected out for a corner by Grant Munro, then Brittain struck the Celtic crossbar from distance with Forster rooted to his line. In the final two minutes of the match, Fraser kept his clean sheet with an instinctive save to deny a Samaras header and Watt's right-footed shot inched past the near-side post.
Then, moments later, Beram Kayal was unlucky to volley just over from ten yards out.

As the seconds ticked away and Celtic faced the prospect of a long trip home and nothing to show for it, Watt broke free on the right-hand side and worked into the County penalty area, then Fraser parried the Coatbridge man's shot before Commons followed up and struck low past Fraser to avoid defeat.

Squad Statistics (as at August 18th, 2012)

2012/13 All Time
Michael Fraser (GK)28 3 - 46 -
Scott Boyd26 3 - 18911
Ross Tokely33 3 - 3 -
Marc Fitzpatrick26 3 - 38 -
Grant Munro31 3 - 452
Mark Corcoran31 3 - 691
Rocco Quinn25 1 - 343
Richard Brittain28 3117633
Iain Vigurs24 3 - 12614
Stuart Kettlewell28 1 - 1026
Colin McMenamin31 3 - 4320

League Table (as at August 18th, 2012)

No league table has been added for this season.